After CISSP?

niall.nfniall.nf Member Posts: 21 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi guys,

I'm looking for your advice on a career decision I need to make. I recently passed CISSP and am looking for my next move. My contract is up where I'm currently working at the end of June 14, and I want to well prepared when the time comes.

My main questions: CISM or CRISC? I figure each would require 3 -4 months prep so I'm wondering which is the better move? Or does it make more sense to do one before the other?

Also how much would my recent CISSP help me with them?

My background is I'm working as a network technician for a large company for 6+ years. I have some experience in risk management and IT service management but not as much as i'd like. I'm more on the technical side of the house but TBH i'd like to eventually drift to a more managerial position.

I have a CCNP Security, ITIL foundation, CISSP and a bachelors degree in IT management.

Id love to hear some thoughts form those who have gone before me, or anybody with some insight into either CISM or CISA

Also what is G2700 like for somebody with limited experience with ISO 27001 ? Is it a good area to get into etc?

Thanks in advance for any help!!

Comments

• JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,023 Admin
    Do you currently have the professional work experience required by the CISA, CISM, or CRISC certifications? You can take the exams without having the work experience, but that won't help you much in finding an InfoSec job. If you want to stay in network operations then I would suggest the CCIE Security would be a better choice than an InfoSec auditing or management cert. I would also suggest planning not to "drift" into management, but instead get with a large company that has a management training program.
  • paul78paul78 Member Posts: 3,016 ■■■■■■■■■■