Quick Update

ChitownjediChitownjedi Member Posts: 578 ■■■■■□□□□□
Hey All,

So a few months ago in August I left a job do to a hostile work environment and not being allowed to get much networking exposure even though i was a Networking Engineer. I had only been there 6 months, and just felt that my path/career goals would not be fulfilled no matter how long I stayed.

After a couple of delays (On my end) I have finally signed my offer letter for the location I've been contracting for since August....and I am now Manager of Desktop Support & Engineering.

I will tell you Management is allout.gifallout.gificon_silent.gificon_rolleyes.gificon_bounce.gificon_bounce.gificon_bounce.gificon_bounce.gificon_bounce.gif
It definitely has its own set of challenges that are quite unique, as I am sure everyone is aware. I literally felt like I have to be a mentor/therapist/escalation point and all the other fantastic things that goes into giving individuals their day to day cadence while working on integrating SLA/OLA Service Level Improvements and all that other goodness that keeps me hiding half the day... lol It's been a great learning experience.

I was able to get a signing bonus/ and my Salary will be a tick over $90,000.. up from the 50,000 I was making as a network engineer. We are always in the middle of some world changing project, so as time slows down I look to be able to interact a little more with TE. Hope everyone is doing well. Keep pushing, and studying. Know your worth, and keep striving to achieve it. Later!

Comments

• coralreefguycoralreefguy Member Posts: 98 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Well that's quite a jump in pay and you clearly deserve it. Good for you!
    System Administrator / DevOps guy

2015 passed: CCNA R/S, CCNA Sec, Project+, VCP5-DCV
    2016 goals: MCSE Server 2012; continue to use/learn more Chef w/Ruby and Powershell on Azure
  • linuxloverlinuxlover Banned Posts: 228