CompTIA CEU Cycle Warning

davemurfdavemurf Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
(Note: This comment applies to all CompTIA certs but for the purposes of this thread I am focused on the 50 CEU requirement for Security+. Secondly, this is my first time on the forum and apologize if the info below has already been posted elsewhere.)

I am employed by a DOD agency and track the Cyber Workforce certification requirements. I found out something today about CompTIA's CEU policy that I want to pass on to everyone that could be affected. CompTIA has a 3-year cycle for cert holders to complete their CEU requirements (i.e. 50 CEUs forSec+). However, unlike (ISC)2, CompTIA does not require you to manage your 3-year CEU cycle by doing x many CEUs each year. You can wait until the mid-night hour at the very end of your 3-year cycle and do all your CEUs at the last minute if desired.

That being said, CompTIA will basically punish you for being proactive and getting your CEUs done early. For example, say you passed your Security+ examin Jan 2014. You now have until Jan 2017 to complete your 50 CEU requirements. Now let's say you're ambitious and decide to get your 50 CEUs out of the way ASAP. You manage to get them done and submit them in Jan 2015. You give a sigh of relief and sit back thinking you're good to go until Jan 2017. Wrong! As soon as you submit all 50 CEUs, CompTIA resets the clock and your 3-year cycle starts again. (I don't think (ISC)2 does this but am not sure.)

Therefore, the only way to truly take advantage of the 3 years to obtain all your CEUs would be to wait until the last month of the last year to submit your 50th CEU credit. Otherwise as soon as you submit that last CEU credit that puts you at a total of 50 CEUs they will reset the clock and your 3-year CEU cycle starts again.

Comments

• jvrlopezjvrlopez Member Posts: 913 ■■■■□□□□□□