Options

Possible to be both MCSA and MCSE ?

icon_confused.gif: Is it possible to be both MCSA and MCSE ? icon_confused.gif:

Forgive my ignorance, I am rather new to the whole certification scene...and by the way this is also my "hello I am the new guy" thread.

I am a computer programmer and a network admin for a mid sized company - after being employed for close to 6 years, I am just now getting around on certifications.

My long term goals are to be an MCSE and MCPD (in c#) and MCITP (sql 2005 developer) - originally I was aiming for an MCSA intead of an MCSE.

To get into the swing of things I passed both CompTIA A+ and Network+....currently reading a book on Security+ but not really all that interested in the book (think the author is drull and boring).

MCSA 4 Total Required
1 Elective
A+ / Network+ Fullfill the elective

1 Client Operating System exam
70-270 Windows XP (this also gets youthe MCP cert?)

2 Networking exams
70–290 Managing Windows 2003
70–291 Implementing Windows 2003

MCSE 7 total required

Elective
Security+

1 Client Operating System exam
70-270 Windows XP (is this super easy ?).

4 Networking exams
70–290 Managing Windows 2003
70–291 Implementing Windows 2003
70-293 Planning and Maintaining
70-294 Planning, Implementing

Design
70-298 Designing Security (Does Security+ fill this also)?

Did I do that right?

So to me it looks like - I would end up with the following certifications...
A+ (part of an MCSA elective)
Network+ (part of an MCSA elective)
Security+ (MCSE elective and 70-298 Design test?)
MCP - you get this for passing any one MS test
MCSA - I should currently be 4 tests away?
MCSE - focused in security - is it really worth it or should I stop at MCSA?

Or do the tests (like 70-270 Windows XP ) not count for both MCSA and MCSE?

Any help or tips would be great - like I said my long term goals are MCSE - MCPD - MCTIP