Lab Help Please

Danielh22185Danielh22185 Member Posts: 1,195 ■■■■□□□□□□
So this is driving me nuts, this should be super simple but I don't know what is getting me hung up here...See attached thumbnail of the topology.

I am trying to force R3 to only to learn the 172.1.1.1/32; 172.3.3.3/32 routes via S0/2 and the other two 172.1.1.1/32; 172.4.4.4/32 networks to be learned via R2 via s0/1 on R3.I implemented this via prefix/distribute lists (see configs)

I've been scratching my head on this for a while now, everything seems good from a configuration standpoint, however R3 is not learning the intended 172.x.x.x networks from R2 while R2 has learned the routes from R1 via EIGRP.

Also I did not attach R4s config as it is a stub network and is not participating in the route manipulation I am attempting.

===================================================================
Router 1:


R1#                                                             sh runBuilding configuration...


Current configuration : 1495 bytes
!
version 12.4
service timestamps debug datetime msec
service timestamps log datetime msec
no service password-encryption
!
hostname R1
!
boot-start-marker
boot-end-marker
!
!
no aaa new-model
memory-size iomem 10
ip cef
!
!
!
!
no ip domain lookup
ip domain name lab.local
!
multilink bundle-name authenticated
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
archive
 log config
  hidekeys
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
interface Loopback0
 ip address 1.1.1.1 255.255.255.255
!
interface Loopback1
 ip address 172.1.1.1 255.255.255.255
!
interface Loopback2
 ip address 172.2.2.2 255.255.255.255
!
interface Loopback3
 ip address 172.3.3.3 255.255.255.255
!
interface Loopback4
 ip address 172.4.4.4 255.255.255.255
!
interface FastEthernet0/0
 no ip address
 shutdown
 duplex auto
 speed auto
!
interface Serial0/0
 ip address 10.0.0.1 255.255.255.252
!
interface FastEthernet0/1
 ip address 150.1.1.1 255.255.255.0
 duplex auto
 speed auto
!
interface Serial0/1
 no ip address
 shutdown
!
interface Serial0/2
 ip address 10.0.0.5 255.255.255.252
!
interface Serial0/3
 no ip address
 shutdown
!
router eigrp 1
 redistribute connected
 network 1.0.0.0
 network 10.0.0.0
 network 150.0.0.0
 network 172.0.0.0
 no auto-summary
!
ip forward-protocol nd
!
!
no ip http server
no ip http secure-server
!
!
!
!
!
!
control-plane
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
line con 0
 exec-timeout 0 0
 privilege level 15
 logging synchronous
line aux 0
 exec-timeout 0 0
 privilege level 15
 logging synchronous
line vty 0 4
 login
!
!
end

==============================================================================
Router 2:

R2#sh run
Building configuration...


Current configuration : 1212 bytes
!
version 12.4
service timestamps debug datetime msec
service timestamps log datetime msec
no service password-encryption
!
hostname R2
!
boot-start-marker
boot-end-marker
!
!
no aaa new-model
memory-size iomem 10
ip cef
!
!
!
!
no ip domain lookup
ip domain name lab.local
!
multilink bundle-name authenticated
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
archive
 log config
  hidekeys
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
interface Loopback0
 ip address 2.2.2.2 255.255.255.255
!
interface FastEthernet0/0
 ip address 150.2.2.2 255.255.255.0
 duplex auto
 speed auto
!
interface Serial0/0
 ip address 10.0.0.2 255.255.255.252
!
interface FastEthernet0/1
 no ip address
 shutdown
 duplex auto
 speed auto
!
interface Serial0/1
 ip address 10.0.0.9 255.255.255.252
!
interface Serial0/2
 no ip address
 shutdown
!
interface Serial0/3
 no ip address
 shutdown
!
router eigrp 1
 network 2.0.0.0
 network 10.0.0.0
 network 150.0.0.0
 no auto-summary
!
ip forward-protocol nd
!
!
no ip http server
no ip http secure-server
!
!
!
!
!
!
control-plane
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
line con 0
 exec-timeout 0 0
 privilege level 15
 logging synchronous
line aux 0
 exec-timeout 0 0
 privilege level 15
 logging synchronous
line vty 0 4
 login
!
!
end

============================================================================
Router 3:

R3#sh run
Building configuration...


Current configuration : 1687 bytes
!
version 12.4
service timestamps debug datetime msec
service timestamps log datetime msec
no service password-encryption
!
hostname R3
!
boot-start-marker
boot-end-marker
!
!
no aaa new-model
memory-size iomem 10
ip cef
!
!
!
!
no ip domain lookup
ip domain name lab.local
!
multilink bundle-name authenticated
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
archive
 log config
  hidekeys
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
interface Loopback0
 ip address 3.3.3.3 255.255.255.255
!
interface FastEthernet0/0
 ip address 150.3.3.3 255.255.255.0
 duplex auto
 speed auto
!
interface Serial0/0
 ip address 10.0.0.13 255.255.255.252
!
interface FastEthernet0/1
 no ip address
 shutdown
 duplex auto
 speed auto
!
interface Serial0/1
 no ip address
!
interface Serial0/2
 ip address 10.0.0.6 255.255.255.252
!
interface Serial0/3
 no ip address
 shutdown
!
router eigrp 1
 network 3.0.0.0
 network 10.0.0.0
 network 150.0.0.0
 distribute-list prefix R2-Routes in Serial0/1
 distribute-list prefix R1-Routes in Serial0/2
 no auto-summary
!
ip forward-protocol nd
!
!
no ip http server
no ip http secure-server
!
ip access-list standard R1-Routes
ip access-list standard R2-Routes
!
!
ip prefix-list R1-Routes seq 1 permit 172.1.1.1/32
ip prefix-list R1-Routes seq 2 permit 172.3.3.3/32
ip prefix-list R1-Routes seq 3 permit 150.0.0.0/8 ge 24
!
ip prefix-list R2-Routes seq 1 permit 172.2.2.2/32
ip prefix-list R2-Routes seq 2 permit 172.4.4.4/32
ip prefix-list R2-Routes seq 3 permit 150.0.0.0/8 ge 24
!
!
!
!
!
control-plane
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
line con 0
 exec-timeout 0 0
 privilege level 15
 logging synchronous
line aux 0
 exec-timeout 0 0
 privilege level 15
 logging synchronous
line vty 0 4
 login
!
!
end




Currently Studying: IE Stuff...kinda...for now...
My ultimate career goal: To climb to the top of the computer network industry food chain.
"Winning means you're willing to go longer, work harder, and give more than anyone else." - Vince Lombardi

Comments

  • fredrikjjfredrikjj Member Posts: 879
    Is R3 learning all expected routes if you remove all distribute lists?

    PS.
    The error is probably on R1 where you try to enable the loopbacks with network 172.0.0.0. Since this is a class b address, you are essentially saying 172.0.0.0 0.0.255.255 and this doesn't match 172.x.1.1/32. Though, if you say that R2 is learning the routes, that's probably not the problem and I'm confused about the network command.

    PPS.
    But redistributing the connected routes should solve this problem with them not being enabled with the network command, but you've forgotten the seed metric. EIGRP requires a seed metric. Edit: seed metric isn't required on connected routes - how curious. How have I missed that detail.
  • Danielh22185Danielh22185 Member Posts: 1,195 ■■■■□□□□□□
    fredrikjj wrote: »
    Is R3 learning all expected routes if you remove all distribute lists?

    PS.
    The error is probably on R1 where you try to enable the loopbacks with network 172.0.0.0. Since this is a class b address, you are essentially saying 172.0.0.0 0.0.255.255 and this doesn't match 172.x.1.1/32. Though, if you say that R2 is learning the routes, that's probably not the problem and I'm confused about the network command.

    PPS.
    But redistributing the connected routes should solve this problem with them not being enabled with the network command, but you've forgotten the seed metric. EIGRP requires a seed metric. Edit: seed metric isn't required on connected routes - how curious. How have I missed that detail.

    The network command on router 1 was a mistake. I added that in desperation of trying to figure out the problem. I have since removed the network command. I actually went in and added the network address of each individual EIGRP network and this allows for the advertisement of the needed networks the same way as the re-distribute connected command did. Still R3 will not learn the networks from R2.

    When using the redistribute connected command you do not need to set a seed metric value, this is only when redistributing into other protocols. I am basically just telling R1 to throw anything it has connected to it into EIGRP and advertise it.

    So now I have corrected the 172.0.0.0 network command on R1 however the network is still being advertised correctly because that command essentially was a null command.

    This is what gets me, here is the routing tables of R2 (who has the routes) and R3 who doesn't.
    R2#sh ip route
    Codes: C - connected, S - static, R - RIP, M - mobile, B - BGP
           D - EIGRP, EX - EIGRP external, O - OSPF, IA - OSPF inter area
           N1 - OSPF NSSA external type 1, N2 - OSPF NSSA external type 2
           E1 - OSPF external type 1, E2 - OSPF external type 2
           i - IS-IS, su - IS-IS summary, L1 - IS-IS level-1, L2 - IS-IS level-2
           ia - IS-IS inter area, * - candidate default, U - per-user static route
           o - ODR, P - periodic downloaded static route
    
    
    Gateway of last resort is not set
    
    
         1.0.0.0/32 is subnetted, 1 subnets
    D       1.1.1.1 [90/2297856] via 10.0.0.1, 00:27:43, Serial0/0
         2.0.0.0/32 is subnetted, 1 subnets
    C       2.2.2.2 is directly connected, Loopback0
         3.0.0.0/32 is subnetted, 1 subnets
    D       3.3.3.3 [90/2809856] via 10.0.0.1, 00:27:42, Serial0/0
         4.0.0.0/32 is subnetted, 1 subnets
    D       4.4.4.4 [90/3321856] via 10.0.0.1, 00:27:42, Serial0/0
         172.1.0.0/32 is subnetted, 1 subnets
    D EX    172.1.1.1 [170/2297856] via 10.0.0.1, 00:04:04, Serial0/0
         172.2.0.0/32 is subnetted, 1 subnets
    D EX    172.2.2.2 [170/2297856] via 10.0.0.1, 00:04:05, Serial0/0
         172.3.0.0/32 is subnetted, 1 subnets
    D EX    172.3.3.3 [170/2297856] via 10.0.0.1, 00:04:05, Serial0/0
         172.4.0.0/32 is subnetted, 1 subnets
    D EX    172.4.4.4 [170/2297856] via 10.0.0.1, 00:04:05, Serial0/0
         10.0.0.0/30 is subnetted, 4 subnets
    C       10.0.0.8 is directly connected, Serial0/1
    D       10.0.0.12 [90/3193856] via 10.0.0.1, 00:27:43, Serial0/0
    C       10.0.0.0 is directly connected, Serial0/0
    D       10.0.0.4 [90/2681856] via 10.0.0.1, 00:27:45, Serial0/0
         150.1.0.0/24 is subnetted, 1 subnets
    D EX    150.1.1.0 [170/2172416] via 10.0.0.1, 00:04:05, Serial0/0
         150.2.0.0/24 is subnetted, 1 subnets
    C       150.2.2.0 is directly connected, FastEthernet0/0
    ==================================================================
    
    
    R3#sh ip route
    Codes: C - connected, S - static, R - RIP, M - mobile, B - BGP
           D - EIGRP, EX - EIGRP external, O - OSPF, IA - OSPF inter area
           N1 - OSPF NSSA external type 1, N2 - OSPF NSSA external type 2
           E1 - OSPF external type 1, E2 - OSPF external type 2
           i - IS-IS, su - IS-IS summary, L1 - IS-IS level-1, L2 - IS-IS level-2
           ia - IS-IS inter area, * - candidate default, U - per-user static route
           o - ODR, P - periodic downloaded static route
    
    
    Gateway of last resort is not set
    
    
         3.0.0.0/32 is subnetted, 1 subnets
    C       3.3.3.3 is directly connected, Loopback0
         4.0.0.0/32 is subnetted, 1 subnets
    D       4.4.4.4 [90/2297856] via 10.0.0.14, 00:28:32, Serial0/0
         172.1.0.0/32 is subnetted, 1 subnets
    D EX    172.1.1.1 [170/2297856] via 10.0.0.5, 00:04:54, Serial0/2
         172.3.0.0/32 is subnetted, 1 subnets
    D EX    172.3.3.3 [170/2297856] via 10.0.0.5, 00:04:54, Serial0/2
         10.0.0.0/30 is subnetted, 2 subnets
    C       10.0.0.12 is directly connected, Serial0/0
    C       10.0.0.4 is directly connected, Serial0/2
         150.1.0.0/24 is subnetted, 1 subnets
    D EX    150.1.1.0 [170/2172416] via 10.0.0.5, 00:04:56, Serial0/2
         150.3.0.0/24 is subnetted, 1 subnets
    C       150.3.3.0 is directly connected, FastEthernet0/0
    
    Currently Studying: IE Stuff...kinda...for now...
    My ultimate career goal: To climb to the top of the computer network industry food chain.
    "Winning means you're willing to go longer, work harder, and give more than anyone else." - Vince Lombardi
  • Danielh22185Danielh22185 Member Posts: 1,195 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Also I removed the distribute list on s0/2 and everything works and I see my networks in R3s table. I gotta be missing something fundamental here I just am not seeing...

    R3(config-router)#do sh ip route
    Codes: C - connected, S - static, R - RIP, M - mobile, B - BGP
           D - EIGRP, EX - EIGRP external, O - OSPF, IA - OSPF inter area
           N1 - OSPF NSSA external type 1, N2 - OSPF NSSA external type 2
           E1 - OSPF external type 1, E2 - OSPF external type 2
           i - IS-IS, su - IS-IS summary, L1 - IS-IS level-1, L2 - IS-IS level-2
           ia - IS-IS inter area, * - candidate default, U - per-user static route
           o - ODR, P - periodic downloaded static route
    
    
    Gateway of last resort is not set
    
    
         3.0.0.0/32 is subnetted, 1 subnets
    C       3.3.3.3 is directly connected, Loopback0
         4.0.0.0/32 is subnetted, 1 subnets
    D       4.4.4.4 [90/2297856] via 10.0.0.14, 00:35:45, Serial0/0
         172.1.0.0/32 is subnetted, 1 subnets
    D EX    172.1.1.1 [170/2297856] via 10.0.0.5, 00:12:08, Serial0/2
         172.3.0.0/32 is subnetted, 1 subnets
    D EX    172.3.3.3 [170/2297856] via 10.0.0.5, 00:12:08, Serial0/2
         10.0.0.0/30 is subnetted, 2 subnets
    C       10.0.0.12 is directly connected, Serial0/0
    C       10.0.0.4 is directly connected, Serial0/2
         150.1.0.0/24 is subnetted, 1 subnets
    D EX    150.1.1.0 [170/2172416] via 10.0.0.5, 00:12:09, Serial0/2
         150.3.0.0/24 is subnetted, 1 subnets
    C       150.3.3.0 is directly connected, FastEthernet0/0
    
    
    R3(config-router)#do sh run | b router
    router eigrp 1
     network 3.0.0.0
     network 10.0.0.0
     network 150.0.0.0
     distribute-list prefix R2-Routes in Serial0/1
     distribute-list prefix R1-Routes in Serial0/2
     no auto-summary
    !
    ip forward-protocol nd
    !
    !
    no ip http server
    no ip http secure-server
    !
    ip access-list standard R1-Routes
    ip access-list standard R2-Routes
    !
    !
    ip prefix-list R1-Routes seq 1 permit 172.1.1.1/32
    ip prefix-list R1-Routes seq 2 permit 172.3.3.3/32
    ip prefix-list R1-Routes seq 3 permit 150.0.0.0/8 ge 24
    !
    ip prefix-list R2-Routes seq 1 permit 172.2.2.2/32
    ip prefix-list R2-Routes seq 2 permit 172.4.4.4/32
    ip prefix-list R2-Routes seq 3 permit 150.0.0.0/8 ge 24
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    control-plane
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    line con 0
     exec-timeout 0 0
     privilege level 15
     logging synchronous
    line aux 0
    
    
    R3(config-router)#no  distribute-list prefix R1-Routes in Serial0/2
    
    
    *Mar  1 00:36:49.087: %DUAL-5-NBRCHANGE: IP-EIGRP(0) 1: Neighbor 10.0.0.5 (Serial0/2) is resync: route configuration changed
    R3(config-router)#do sh ip route
    Codes: C - connected, S - static, R - RIP, M - mobile, B - BGP
           D - EIGRP, EX - EIGRP external, O - OSPF, IA - OSPF inter area
           N1 - OSPF NSSA external type 1, N2 - OSPF NSSA external type 2
           E1 - OSPF external type 1, E2 - OSPF external type 2
           i - IS-IS, su - IS-IS summary, L1 - IS-IS level-1, L2 - IS-IS level-2
           ia - IS-IS inter area, * - candidate default, U - per-user static route
           o - ODR, P - periodic downloaded static route
    
    
    Gateway of last resort is not set
    
    
         1.0.0.0/32 is subnetted, 1 subnets
    D       1.1.1.1 [90/2297856] via 10.0.0.5, 00:00:16, Serial0/2
         2.0.0.0/32 is subnetted, 1 subnets
    D       2.2.2.2 [90/2809856] via 10.0.0.5, 00:00:16, Serial0/2
         3.0.0.0/32 is subnetted, 1 subnets
    C       3.3.3.3 is directly connected, Loopback0
         4.0.0.0/32 is subnetted, 1 subnets
    D       4.4.4.4 [90/2297856] via 10.0.0.14, 00:36:55, Serial0/0
         172.1.0.0/32 is subnetted, 1 subnets
    D EX    172.1.1.1 [170/2297856] via 10.0.0.5, 00:13:18, Serial0/2
         172.2.0.0/32 is subnetted, 1 subnets
    D EX    172.2.2.2 [170/2297856] via 10.0.0.5, 00:00:17, Serial0/2
         172.3.0.0/32 is subnetted, 1 subnets
    D EX    172.3.3.3 [170/2297856] via 10.0.0.5, 00:13:20, Serial0/2
         172.4.0.0/32 is subnetted, 1 subnets
    D EX    172.4.4.4 [170/2297856] via 10.0.0.5, 00:00:18, Serial0/2
         10.0.0.0/30 is subnetted, 4 subnets
    D       10.0.0.8 [90/3193856] via 10.0.0.5, 00:00:18, Serial0/2
    C       10.0.0.12 is directly connected, Serial0/0
    D       10.0.0.0 [90/2681856] via 10.0.0.5, 00:00:18, Serial0/2
    C       10.0.0.4 is directly connected, Serial0/2
         150.1.0.0/24 is subnetted, 1 subnets
    D EX    150.1.1.0 [170/2172416] via 10.0.0.5, 00:13:20, Serial0/2
         150.3.0.0/24 is subnetted, 1 subnets
    C       150.3.3.0 is directly connected, FastEthernet0/0
    
    
    
    
    Currently Studying: IE Stuff...kinda...for now...
    My ultimate career goal: To climb to the top of the computer network industry food chain.
    "Winning means you're willing to go longer, work harder, and give more than anyone else." - Vince Lombardi
  • Dieg0MDieg0M Member Posts: 861
    Like stated above you are not advertising your loopbacks properly in EIGRP. Use a specific netmask next time to avoid errors like this.
    Follow my CCDE journey at www.routingnull0.com
  • Danielh22185Danielh22185 Member Posts: 1,195 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Dieg0M wrote: »
    Like stated above you are not advertising your loopbacks properly in EIGRP. Use a specific netmask next time to avoid errors like this.

    Yes I already recognized that command was not intended and had zero effect anyway. I WAS advertising correctly via using the 'redistribute connected' command. Thus why you can see networks on both R2 and R3. The problem appears to be with the distribute list.
    Currently Studying: IE Stuff...kinda...for now...
    My ultimate career goal: To climb to the top of the computer network industry food chain.
    "Winning means you're willing to go longer, work harder, and give more than anyone else." - Vince Lombardi
  • JoshyJJoshyJ Member Posts: 32 ■■□□□□□□□□
    If the configuration your provided is what you got. Then I would have another look at the configurations.

    A hint would be check that all routers are neighbours to each other. The mistake is a very simple one.

    R1 to R2
    R1 to R3
    R2 to R3
  • Danielh22185Danielh22185 Member Posts: 1,195 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Oh ya they are all definitely neighbors. The advertisements work. Events only change when I add the distribute list to s0/2 on R3 to include a permit statement to allows 2 of R1s loopbacks. In effect of that, this only allows those networks to be advertised via that interface. On R3's other interface the prefix list will allows those two missing networks to be advertised via R2 which R2 already has routes for.
    Currently Studying: IE Stuff...kinda...for now...
    My ultimate career goal: To climb to the top of the computer network industry food chain.
    "Winning means you're willing to go longer, work harder, and give more than anyone else." - Vince Lombardi
  • JoshyJJoshyJ Member Posts: 32 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Are you 100% sure?
  • JoshyJJoshyJ Member Posts: 32 ■■□□□□□□□□
    This is what I got once I fixed the issue. Without playing with any prefix lists or network statements.
    R3#show ip route
    Codes: C - connected, S - static, R - RIP, M - mobile, B - BGP
           D - EIGRP, EX - EIGRP external, O - OSPF, IA - OSPF inter area
           N1 - OSPF NSSA external type 1, N2 - OSPF NSSA external type 2
           E1 - OSPF external type 1, E2 - OSPF external type 2
           i - IS-IS, su - IS-IS summary, L1 - IS-IS level-1, L2 - IS-IS level-2
           ia - IS-IS inter area, * - candidate default, U - per-user static route
           o - ODR, P - periodic downloaded static route
    
    Gateway of last resort is not set
    
         3.0.0.0/32 is subnetted, 1 subnets
    C       3.3.3.3 is directly connected, Loopback0
         172.1.0.0/32 is subnetted, 1 subnets
    D EX    172.1.1.1 [170/2297856] via 10.0.0.5, 00:36:54, Serial0/2
         172.2.0.0/32 is subnetted, 1 subnets
    D EX    172.2.2.2 [170/2809856] via 10.0.0.9, 00:00:12, Serial0/1
         172.3.0.0/32 is subnetted, 1 subnets
    D EX    172.3.3.3 [170/2297856] via 10.0.0.5, 00:36:54, Serial0/2
         172.4.0.0/32 is subnetted, 1 subnets
    D EX    172.4.4.4 [170/2809856] via 10.0.0.9, 00:00:12, Serial0/1
         10.0.0.0/30 is subnetted, 2 subnets
    C       10.0.0.8 is directly connected, Serial0/1
    C       10.0.0.4 is directly connected, Serial0/2
    R3#
    
    
  • Danielh22185Danielh22185 Member Posts: 1,195 ■■■■□□□□□□
    JoshyJ wrote: »
    This is what I got once I fixed the issue. Without playing with any prefix lists or network statements.
    R3#show ip route
    Codes: C - connected, S - static, R - RIP, M - mobile, B - BGP
           D - EIGRP, EX - EIGRP external, O - OSPF, IA - OSPF inter area
           N1 - OSPF NSSA external type 1, N2 - OSPF NSSA external type 2
           E1 - OSPF external type 1, E2 - OSPF external type 2
           i - IS-IS, su - IS-IS summary, L1 - IS-IS level-1, L2 - IS-IS level-2
           ia - IS-IS inter area, * - candidate default, U - per-user static route
           o - ODR, P - periodic downloaded static route
    
    Gateway of last resort is not set
    
         3.0.0.0/32 is subnetted, 1 subnets
    C       3.3.3.3 is directly connected, Loopback0
         172.1.0.0/32 is subnetted, 1 subnets
    D EX    172.1.1.1 [170/2297856] via 10.0.0.5, 00:36:54, Serial0/2
         172.2.0.0/32 is subnetted, 1 subnets
    D EX    172.2.2.2 [170/2809856] via 10.0.0.9, 00:00:12, Serial0/1
         172.3.0.0/32 is subnetted, 1 subnets
    D EX    172.3.3.3 [170/2297856] via 10.0.0.5, 00:36:54, Serial0/2
         172.4.0.0/32 is subnetted, 1 subnets
    D EX    172.4.4.4 [170/2809856] via 10.0.0.9, 00:00:12, Serial0/1
         10.0.0.0/30 is subnetted, 2 subnets
    C       10.0.0.8 is directly connected, Serial0/1
    C       10.0.0.4 is directly connected, Serial0/2
    R3#
    
    

    I am absolutely sure they networks are being advertised. R2 is getting them and R3 gets them as well until I add the prefix-list. I went back to the lab and re-checked everything again. I can't find the problem.

    Edit:
    Ugh... Just found it....

    Forgot to add an ip address to R3s s0/1 interface. I knew it was something small.....

    Thanks for the help guys. I find its best to step away from a problem like this and come back fresh.
    Currently Studying: IE Stuff...kinda...for now...
    My ultimate career goal: To climb to the top of the computer network industry food chain.
    "Winning means you're willing to go longer, work harder, and give more than anyone else." - Vince Lombardi
  • Danielh22185Danielh22185 Member Posts: 1,195 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I knew the problem was somewhere between R2 / R3 but don't know why I kept overlooking the serial interface configs on both. Oh well good troubleshooting experience non-the-less.
    Currently Studying: IE Stuff...kinda...for now...
    My ultimate career goal: To climb to the top of the computer network industry food chain.
    "Winning means you're willing to go longer, work harder, and give more than anyone else." - Vince Lombardi
Sign In or Register to comment.