OSI Model vs. Exmples on CBT Net+ nuggets

luongx327luongx327 Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi everyone,

I am studying for the Network+ and utilizing Keith Barker's CBT nugget videos. icon_study.gif

After diving in several videos already, I am still puzzled about the OSI model.

The OSI model shows that data goes from Host PC down layers Application> Layers 4-3-2-1, etc and back up to the destined PC from layers 1-2-3-4, > Application, etc.

In one of the examples, Keith Barker shows a PC connected to a switch, and switch to the router before it goes out of the network to a DNS server.

How can the data from the PC be sent out from PC to layer 2 (switch) to layer 3 (router) and out of the network? Because isn't the OSI model sequence out of order if that PC sends data from Application to Layer 4, then Layer 2 (the switch in the example) then to Layer 3 (router) and out of the network? I am confused on how nugget shows the PC sending data to a layer 2 device before reaching the layer 3 (router), seems to be switched around.. icon_confused.gif:

If someone could please explain, I'd very much appreciate it.

Thanks so much for your help!

Comments

• jaywalkerjaywalker Member Posts: 90 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I don't want to confuse you further so I wont try to explain :D I'm studying the Network+ myself and have seen some of his CBT Nugget videos. Have you checked out Professor Messer's Network+ videos? His explanation of the OSI model is easy to understand and it may clear things up for you. Good luck!
    Goals for 2015: ICND1 [], ICND2 []

..........:cheers:
    A winner is you
  • Fulcrum45Fulcrum45 Member Posts: 621 ■■■■■□□□□□