Options

A Ratchokes Journey.....

ratchokeratchoke Member Posts: 47 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello, I have seen a couple post like this and thought it would be helpful to myself for motivational and assistant purposes. But also to provide a log of the journey I've taken into WGU, and hopefully this helps provide some insight and expectations of others who may be deciding on enrolling in Western Governors University (WGU).

Backround:
To note, I have no real IT work experience, I have worked help desk (more support) for a major video/internet/telephony provider for about four years now. I am however, currently working into getting into the Network Service Desk (NSD) department. Where I would be able to analyze network and data flow to help resolve, redirect date, or escalate as needed per business requirements.

Goal:
My goal is to work as a project management/network engineer being able to help create networks for various med/large sized business. I first learned I wanted to do this while completing my A.S. Network Tech degree from my local community college. I had a lot of fun being able to design, implement, diagnose, hookup networks in a lab based environment.

After I graduate from WGU and wrack up some experience (1-2yrs) I will be working quickly to get a M.S. in MIS or something business related from a traditional Brick and Mortor (B&M) school. This will either be back in California where I'm originally from, or Washington where I am now.

Why I chose WGU:
Hopefully this helps others in their decision, because I am sure many were in my shoes! As much as I would like to go to Washignton University (UW) and graduate with a B.S. in Computer Electrical Engineer (CEE) I neither possessed the funds nor the time. I just recently turned thirty years old and have to work full time.