Thoughts please?

Cold TitaniumCold Titanium Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 82 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hey guys/gals,

I've been debating which direction to go from here. I've almost completed my BS IT:SEC from WGU. There are two different paths that interest me greatly. Pentesting and Malware Analysis. I like offensive security and research(also fond of math). I was reading about the GREM certification and it looked awesome. I have some experience with c/c++ and java. Enough to know that I like coding as well.

I've also got to consider which of these will actually get me a well paying job (well paying meaning that I could support a family). The problem is that I really want to know both and both are full-time pursuits. :)

I was thinking of pursing these certs in the following order

1. CEH
2. OSCP
3. GREM (I'd intermix this when I need a break from the others)

I'd just hang onto my Network Analyst job until I obtained the OSCP before applying for anything else. With my background in networking, I'd think it would be easier for me to land a job in pentesting. Maybe I should go for pentesting first, then move into reverse engineering in the future. I don't think I really have the experience in programming to go directly to malware analysis.

I just want to get into the security field ASAP so that the security experience clock can start ticking.

Recap: CEH-> OSCP-> Pentesting-> GREM/Programming-> Malware Analyst

I think I'm missing some certs, there's just so many

Any thoughts?
2014 Goals
  • Pass OSCP (In Progress)
  • Obtain employment in IT Security

Comments

• xaxxax Member Posts: 41 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Hi.
    From business viewpoint I think that CEH it's ok But I prefer eCPPT or eWAPT for the effective knowledge.
    I'm doing eWAPT and in 2014 I'm going to do OSCP.
  • r0ckm4nr0ckm4n Member Posts: 63 ■■□□□□□□□□