Vendor neutral certs

hegemon4everhegemon4ever Member Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
Let me start off with, I find this site and everyone on it extremely helpful and useful. A little background on myself, I have my Bachelor's in Computer Science and Engineering, have taken and passed Net+, I'm studying for the Security+ and plan to take that within the next 2 months.

Now with my question. I'm thinking about taking Project+ soon after that (I manage about 30 people and I will help my resume) but I'm wondering what other vendor neutral certifications are out there that are widely accepted.

At the moment, I refuse to go vendor specific because I don't want to be pigeon-holed into a specific brand and limit my knowledge. I'd like to explore CISSP but I don't have enough experience yet to qualify to take it. The CompTIA exams, while useful, seem too easy and I'm afraid people won't take them seriously. Any suggestions?

Comments

• sprkymrksprkymrk Member Posts: 4,884 ■■■□□□□□□□
    <SOAPBOX>
    Being knowledgable in a specific vendor's technology only "pigeon-holes" you if you let it. That's like saying that passing vendor neutral exams means you only know theory and not implementation. If a guy is smart enough to have an MCP, CCNA and RHCE, does that pigeon hole him or does it indicate he has a great cross-platform of skills? Does the fact that you have a BS in Computer Science mean you are not capable of being a manager since you don't have an MBA? If you have a Security+ and CISSP does that pigeon-hole you as a security only guy? I have knowledge and skills in many areas that my certifications do not indicate. Do you see what I mean? I'm sorry to jump on a seemingly innocent statement like that, but I just wanted to make the point that just obtaining a vendor specific cert won't limit you, it actually makes you more valuable.
    </SOAPBOX>