CCIE or Work Experience?

DijkstraDijkstra Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
I haven't had much experience in the networking environment, may be a little less than a year now working with other guyz sometimes although very minimal on little things but I do my own labbing at home mainly using GNS3 and few bits here and using of Cisco kits that I bought from Ebay such as Layer 2, layer 3 switches, ATA and an ASA I borrowed from a friend. However having said that I am from a technical background and have got a degree in Electronics and electrical Engineering but since I graduated few years back I decided to become a teacher hence trained to be a qualified teacher and was teaching Math/Physics/DT at Sec School but in the back of mind I always was interested in Networks and specially wanted to attain CCIE. Now since I have left that teaching job about 6/7 months ago I started studying for CCNA and CCNP and have achieved both. Well, I achieved my CCNP about 2 months ago in October to be precise, all this time I was in some sort of a dilemma to go for the CCIE direct just to get done with it since I have my eyes dead set on that or seek work experience. So my question to the forumers is, and specially to those with CCIEs under their belt and those that have solid real world work experience, do you think I should hold on a moment and go get some real experience or go for the CCIE, and the second part of the question is would it make any difference, lets say in a hypothetical situation, should I attain CCIE without much of a work experience, how's that going to affect at a later stage or impact.

Comments

• Dieg0MDieg0M Member Posts: 861
    Why don't you work towards your CCIE while getting experience.?
    Follow my CCDE journey at www.routingnull0.com
  • DijkstraDijkstra Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□