Get access to our lab equipment

MatroMatro Member Posts: 38 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi!

Sorry for my bad english, but I'm a new Italian student who want to become CCNA certified! :D
I've been using Packet Tracer until now, but I want to use real equipment. I've a 837, and just ordered 3 2610XM routers and 3 2950 switches for my personal lab!
In PT, to use CLI we should double click on the router/switch; How can i get access to the CLI on real devices - without using console cable every time? (This is a stupid question for you, but i'm a novice and simplest things sometime become hard topics.)
I think i should define an IP address on every device, and telnet from my pc. Is it right?

Thanks in advance! :D
Actually: CCNA - Palo Alto ACE

Comments

• AwesomeGarrettAwesomeGarrett Member Posts: 257
    You're going to need either an access server or get creative with your connectivity. If you use a access server, you can connect all your devices from the server via the console interface. Then you would connect your access server to your LAN and assign it an IP address. Then you would just telnet in to the access server. Be warned, access servers only serve that purpose thus the demand/price is always high.

You could also setup the VTY lines on all your devices, console into one device, and telnet from there but you would require layer 3 connectivity to all devices.

There is always the very cumbersome but cheap method and that is to console into every device one at a time.
  • theodoxatheodoxa Member Posts: 1,340 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I bought a Digi CM32 back when they were still reasonably priced (Paid $75). Just checked eBay and one guy has them for $100 right now. Everyone else is $199 or more.

Digi cm 32 32 Port Console Terminal Server CM32 Tested | eBay

These are nice. You just connect a regular old patch (ethernet) cable from it to each of the devices' console ports. Then, you would connect it to your network. You can Telnet (?) or SSH into each of the devices via the Digi CM32.