Appropriate Certifcation to Break into the IT field

New2ITinCaliNew2ITinCali Member Posts: 184 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi All. I've been trying desperately to break into the I.T. field with no luckicon_sad.gif I've been on over 10 interviews. I have my Bachelors in Business with a concentration in Information Technology Management and I completed a 6 month internship, so I have that under my belt as well. I really want to focus on Software Development (SQL, ASP.NET, C++) because that is where my experience is. I would consider myself intermediate though, not proficient in the areas listed above (SQL, ASP.NET, C++). I am willing to work in network, help desk or anything IT related at this point. I currently work in accounting, and have been an accountant for over 7 years now. I'm ready for this change. What certifications would any of you recommend I get to break into the field?.. Thanks for everyone's help in advance! icon_wink.gif

Comments

• antielvisantielvis Member Posts: 285 ■■■□□□□□□□
    My immediate thought was that you'd had 10 interviews and didn't land the job. Therefore, I'd say perhaps it's what's happening in the interview? Are you nervous? You being willing to do anything could be seen as "indecisive" by a recruiter or HR, especially from a guy who is trying to change careers. It's not about you getting in the door man, it's about what's happening once you're in the door (10 interviews is damn good).

I would lay out where you want to go in IT, set it out and short, mid term and long term goals and tell that to the interviewer. I'd also recommend to make it clear you WANT a change of career & you've given thought to it. Good luck.
  • docricedocrice Member Posts: 1,706 ■■■■■■■■■■
    If you want to go into software development, you should be able to show proof of your work. Do you have a portfolio of applications you have created and made available for all to see and inspect (such as open source repositories)?