How long does it take to finish the CCNA without experience?

I started studying for the CCNA last July. I realized that I didn't have the background to thoroughly understand the material, so I gave up on it and ended up studying for the A+ which I plan to finish soon. How long did it take for others here to get the CCNA? I basically got stuck when using the GNS3 because I did not know how to get an IOS image on my MAC so I could start building my topology.

Comments

• Jon_CiscoJon_Cisco Member Posts: 1,772 ■■■■■■■■□□
    GNS3 is a great tool but you need to be a little creative when setting it up. Cisco does not give out IOS images unless you are purchasing them. Most industry sites will not give you information on IOS images. I would spend some time looking up GNS setup on Google.

I hope to obtain my CCNA after one year of study. I had plenty of computer experience but networking was limited to connecting our work computers together using a single non-cisco router.

Good Luck
  • fiftyofiftyo Member Posts: 71 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Took me about 1½ months for ICND1 and an additional month for ICND2. Guesstimate the study time was on average between 3-4 hours per day. It's worth mentioning I had about 4 months exposure to the ccna academy before beginning the certification studies.
  • aftereffectoraftereffector Member Posts: 525 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I passed Net+ and then put in three hard weeks of studying 4-5 hours a day, every day, to pass CCNA.
    CCIE Security - this one might take a while...
  • jamthatjamthat Member Posts: 304 ■■■□□□□□□□
    0 -> network+ -> CCNA took me around 4 months of regular study. 2-3 weeks for Network+, one month for ICND1, and ~two months for ICND2. The whole process was around 6 months, but I had about 2 months there where I didn't touch a book :)
  • theodoxatheodoxa Member Posts: 1,340 ■■■■□□□□□□