Firewalls CLI or GUI?

atorvenatorven Member Posts: 319
I'm just getting into firewalls (ASAs) and I wondered about those of you who manage your own firewalls, do you use the CLI or GUI? As I'm learning I'm finding that whilst GUIs allow you to easily set stuff up but they also present you with too many options, which to me as a beginner are confusing as "I would prefer to know what checking certain boxes does", the CLI on the other hand allows you to configure exactly what you want but you need to know specifically what you want to do before hand.

Comments

• Master Of PuppetsMaster Of Puppets Member Posts: 1,210
    Personally, I am a CLI guy. I'm not very fond of GUIs and I avoid to use them as much as I can. However, sometimes it is faster and easier to do something with the GUI. I think you can have the best of both worlds so just make sure to know both. Also, I have made an interesting observation that may apply only to my circumstances but here it goes - IT managers like GUIs. Some of them are not that technical and can't understand the CLI. Additionally, they like pretty graphics, pictures and graphic representations of the things on the network(this can be useful for us too). In the past few weeks I have been specifically required to make sure there are GUIs for the ASAs and some IPS sensors that I deployed(yay for me on getting hands-on for the upcoming IPS exam :D ).
    Yes, I am a criminal. My crime is that of curiosity. My crime is that of judging people by what they say and think, not what they look like. My crime is that of outsmarting you, something that you will never forgive me for.
  • DevilWAHDevilWAH Member Posts: 2,997 ■■■■■■■■□□
    CLi has far more options in general than the GUI, infact some things you can only really do by getting under the hood.