What is CME (Call Manager Express)

FuturaFutura Member Posts: 191
So this may seem like a simple question but I am a student of CCNA Voice at the moment,

Is CME inside the IOS or is CME the Files that accompany the IOS on the Flash.

I mean,

if I just load a an 'IPVOICE' IOS in flash I can enable Telephony Service and EPhones so is that CME?.

Or

Is CME the version of the Package such as 4.1 or 7.1 with the phone loads and rings GUI etc?.

I have been searching for the answer but there is no clear definition. it may seem a simple question to some but I am looking for something a bit deeper to understand the fundamentals.

Thanks

Comments

• bobfromfplbobfromfpl Member Posts: 104
    Hi Futura,

Cisco Unified Communications Manager Express (CUCME) depends on the IOS you're using. So yes, if you use an IPVOICE ios you will have CUCME capability. The one I practiced on was IOS 12.4(24)T which I believe was version 7.1.

The files loaded on the flash support features, products, ring tones, ect
  • theodoxatheodoxa Member Posts: 1,340 ■■■■□□□□□□
    CME is part of the IOS as long as the IOS includes it (IP Voice or above). Phone loads (one of the types of files added) are the firmware need for a specific model of IP phone (e.g. 1740/60, 1741/61, etc...) to function with the specific version of CME (4.3, 8.5, 8.6, etc...) in your IOS. Other added files include things like backgrounds and ringtones.
    R&S: CCENT CCNA CCNP CCIE [ ]
    Security: CCNA [ ]
    Virtualization: VCA-DCV [ ]
  • FuturaFutura Member Posts: 191
    Ok I see, so CUCME is the version contained in the IOS.

So If I load a an IOS such as IPVOICE and enable Telephony Service, then type show telephony service I know what the version of CUCME is?

So then I look on the CUCME Matrix on the CISCO site and see which version of the Phone Loads package I need?

Cisco Unified CME and Cisco IOS Software Version Compatibility Matrix  [Cisco Unified Communications Manager Express] - Cisco Systems