Passed the CISSP in 5 weeks.

montie2montie2 Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
I passed the CISSP on my first attempt. My study method appears to be different from many people on this discussion board.

Materials used:
Shon Harris, AIO, 6th Edition ($35 used)
Sunflower PDF (free)
** I did not waste any money on test banks. I found the questions in Shon Harris to be fairly accurate and representative of the CISSP exam questions.

I started a new position in October as an Information Analyst under the impression that I would have up to 6 months to study for and pass the CISSP exam. Two weeks into the job, I was told that I would need to have passed the CISSP exam by the end of year. Needless to say, I was more than pissed off!

I studied for 5 weeks and passed the exam on the first attempt.
Here is how I did it:
1. Read the Shon Harris book in one week and highlighted key parts
2. Took the practice test at the end of each chapter
3. Took a 250-question simulation test using the software that came with the book.
4. Took the Sunflower PDF and added my notes on any subject that I wasn’t familiar

After adding my notes to the Sunflower PDF, I now had a 33-page document that I could use for focused study. I used the Shon Harris book only as a reference.

5. I reviewed my notes for each domain and took a practice exam for each domain using the software on the CD. If I scored higher than 80%, I considered that domain complete.
6. I repeated the process for every domain until I scored above an 80%.

The week leading up to the test, the only material I studied were the items that could be memorized like cryptography, protocols, ports, regulation numbers, and steps of major processes. The night before the test I took the comprehensive exam that the end of the Shon Harris book and scored above 90%.

During the actual CISSP exam, my process was:
1. 1st pass through all 250 questions. If I was 100% sure of the answer, I marked my answer.