Options

Thinking about A+, Network+, and Security+ to brush up on Tech Skills...

ElCapitanElCapitan Member Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi All,

A quick background... I graduated in 2002 with a Bachelors degree in MIS. I work for a small tech company but I have been mainly on the business management/online marketing side for a few years now. I looked into getting the PMP cert a few years ago but held off for a few reasons (one being I wanted more tech experience).

I ran across a few training books recently so I am thinking about doing the A+, Net+, and Sec+ just to pad the resume a little and also get up to speed on the tech side (since it's been a few years).

Just looking for advice? Even though I have a degree, will these certs still help me? Also, can you tell me if the above is a good order to do the certs? Or, are there "in between" certs that would be more beneficial?

Thanks everyone!!!

Comments

• Options
    bobloblawbobloblaw Member Posts: 228
    If you're going to continue doing management, don't get any of them.

What do you want to do ultimately?
  • Options
    PlantwizPlantwiz Mod Posts: 5,057 Mod
    If you have no current certifications, then this trio may be a good idea.

Considering you already have a degree, what would be your motivation for obtaining the A+? Net+ and Sec+ make more sense IMO and follow that up with Cisco and/or some MS certs that pertain to what you want to do...bring up, what is it you 'want to do'?

Some employers will list A+ and if you have the ability the few hundred dollars to obtain it won't be a big deal to begin your journey, it is a few hundred plus texts because it is 2 exams, but to avoid explaining your reason for not getting it, it's an ok investment.