Options

Aggravating

DetroitPierogiDetroitPierogi Member Posts: 9 ■□□□□□□□□□
I'm taking the test at the end of next week.

Preparing for it has been frustrating at times.
I have used:
1. Meyers book - read front to back twice.
2. Exam Cram book - read front to back 1.5 times.
3. CBT Nuggets - watched all of them and took gobs of notes.
4. Professor Messer - watched all of them and took plenty of notes.
5. Darril's Kindle book full of practice questions.

I also have Meyers' total tester, the exams in the Exam Cram book.

I am new to this, but I have put in my time. A lot of it.

Whenever I try new practice tests / questions, what I find is this: They manage to ask all about some arcane things that I managed to miss. I have been getting about 85% or so on most practice tests, but I'm not getting any better. Or so it seems.

Every time I look at new practice questions, I end up thinking, "Where did that come from ?". And "Hey look ! More acronyms I have never heard of." (That's not really what I think, but there may be kids reading this)

And then there's the inconsistencies / goofs in the material.
Examples:
Meyers book: "You don't need to know the specifics of T568A/T568B." Then a guy on here posts that he read that same thing, but then got two questions on it when he took the test.
Meyers book: CARP = Caching Array Routing Protocol. CompTIA objectives: CARP = Common Address Redundancy Protocol.
Both books: "The CompTIA objectives refer to xxxx. There is no such thing. What they really mean is yyyy."

I'm a pretty sharp guy. And I fully expect to be blindsided next week when I take the test.

Comments

• Options
    XyroXyro Member Posts: 623