Project Management Certification

strauchrstrauchr Member Posts: 528 ■■■□□□□□□□
OK, a question for the project mangement certified or experienced.

I am looking at getting certified in projects after I have been working and managing them now for about 4 years.

As far as I know there are the main 2 certs. PMIs PMP which from what I can gather is more widely known. With this though you need to prove experience in Project Management. It also seems you MUST attend training in order to sit the exam but is administered through Prometric which is convenient.

And then there is Prince2 which is quite popular throught the UK and Australia, maybe not so much in the US (which doesn't bother me too much because I doubt they will let me in :) ). This is a little pricier and requires 2 exams to be completed, a multi choice and a written exam meaning taking more time off work (which isn't good since I'm a contractor). Its also only administered through training companies and may also require a course attendance. I've also heard it has a high failure rate which is fine because it makes it more worthwhile.

So for PMP - who has done this cert and what does it take to "convince" them you have the experience.

PRINCE2 - who has done this either self study or by course? How did you find it?

Comments

• strauchrstrauchr Member Posts: 528 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Just adding to that for PMP. Do you apply before studying, or study until your ready then apply?
  • jim_staszjim_stasz Member Posts: 123
    I work with 4 PMP's, I'll ask them and see if I can get anything for you.
    That would be cool, thanks icon_cool.gif
    I asked, "How'd you study? Classes? Books? Which books? Practice exams?" This is from Allen, one of the PMP's I work with. I'll post the other answers as/if I get them.

"Books, took a class, practice exams, studied non-stop.