Newbie Here !!!

artloveartlove Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
How are you all!

I am so happy to find the site because it is great help for a person like me who seeking advice for getting A+ or similar one. After read lots of threads, I think I have a solid plan to get a text book and free Videos on online for A+.

However, I would like to have some advice for Certifications.

I have been working at an wholesaler/distributor business as a computer technician for over 15 years.
The work place has only two Windows Servers, and 12 workstations which I built them myself.
My job is taking care of all IT equipments & Softwares which include Server, Workstations, POS Hardware, Networks, and all upgradings, lastly troubleshootings & training too.
However, the business has not been great recently, and the owner of the company made a decision to close the business soon. So I have to get a new job, but it is very hard to find one because I have not had any IT certification. I have never thought that I need to have one. It is kind of late, but I am trying to get some certifications one by one. I have a plan to have A+, Network+, then CCNA. I am not really sure that the plan is right. Is any one gives me some advices for the plan?
Thank you

Don

Comments

• JaneDoeJaneDoe Member Posts: 171
    Did you use Cisco equipment at work? If so go straight to your CCNA/CCENT instead of the Network+. Also look into doing Microsoft certification if you have Microsoft servers at work. CCENT or Network+ & and MSCA would be a great place to start out, especially with 15 years experience working with Microsoft servers. If you know the basics of security, the Security+ exam isn't bad either.
  • artloveartlove Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
    JaneDoe wrote: »