Options

Cissp

Venom35Venom35 Member Posts: 11 ■□□□□□□□□□
I was debating with myself on going after the CISSP Cert. I have the experiences required in Access Control ,Information Security Governance and Risk Management, Physical Security and Architecture and Design Security required with 5 1/2 years in security management. This is the type of infosec that intrigues me. I also like the OSCA and CEH side of the house but I am not technically proficient in that domain. Should I acquire my CISSP certification and wait in the more technical certification.

As always thanks inadvance

Comments

• Options
    vasyvasyvasyvasy Member Posts: 68 ■■■□□□□□□□
    It all depends on what you plan to do with your certification... if a manager position is what suits you: take a shot at CISSP
    If you are more on the technical side and want to pursue a pentest position... then CISSP is kind of useless, make your way to more hands-on certs, like CEH or OSCP/OSCE
  • Options
    joebannyjoebanny Member Posts: 84 ■■■□□□□□□□
    As someone else has said, it all depends on what you plan to do, however, the CISSP IMO brings you more value and allows you to operate as a cybersecurity professional as a higher level where you could focus on policy or the technical side. Personally, I think having experience on both sides is better. So if you're motivated enough why not go for both the CISSP which is more managerial and the CEH/OSCP which are more hands on? There is nothing to lose, you just become a better security SME.

Just fyi, there is a specific forum for CISSP/SSCP here where you can gain more insight on that those certs.

All the best to you.
  • Options
    kalkan999kalkan999 Member Posts: 269 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Which direction do you want to take yourself and your career? What kind of exposure do you want to have personally with Senior Managers and Executive staff?