Options

Advise: Wanting to advance beyond help desk/call center/desktop phone support jobs

JockVSJockJockVSJock Member Posts: 1,118
Haven't posted in a few weeks, because I'm busy trying to transition out of the Army, move to a new city (Austin) find a job that will launch my career and studying for the CISSP.

While applying for jobs, I've trying to taylor my resume to system admin, network admin or info sec analysis positions. I've had a few interviews via the phone and have been told that I don't have the skillset and experience for those positions.

I'm mainly getting phone calls for NOC/Help Desk jobs which I know that I'm overqualified for and I'm burnt out on call center work. I've been doing that work now for over 20 years and I'm so ready to move on from it. Along with that, I feel that I'm repeating the same behavior over and over and if I go into a position like that I won't have any hopes of advancing into another positions because I'm overqualified and will perform well.

My question is then, do I keep applying for positions that I'm not qualified for and hope that someone takes a chance or do I try to find another type of job, like officer manager and non-call center positions and study at night for advance IT certs?
***Freedom of Speech, Just Watch What You Say*** Example, Beware of CompTIA Certs (Deleted From Google Cached)

"Its easier to deceive the masses then to convince the masses that they have been deceived."
-unknown

Comments

• Options
    petedudepetedude Member Posts: 1,510
    There are lots of similar threads here, so you may want to spend a little time flipping through this forum to read up on what others have contributed.

You have an MS and you're doing help desk jobs?? You should get some advice on your resume, and possibly some interview skills counseling. With an Army background and a Security+, you should have little trouble transitioning into a network role for a defense contractor.