Options

Should I take this traveling job if offered? (Per diam question.)

codedwarcodedwar Member Posts: 27 ■□□□□□□□□□
So I am interviewing for a job with a defense contractor. The job pays 50k salary + per diem. I believe they go off of GSA per diam rates. The job is 80% travel installing network equipment at military bases. 50k is not enough for me to take the position due to all the travel involved. Will the per diem make a large enough difference in my end salary for me to consider the position? Obviously I wont know if I will be offered the position until after the final interview but I have never had a traveling position before. Can anyone chime in about their experiences with this type of job?

A little about me to give an idea of the level I am at in my career. I have 5 years military experience as a Cyber transport tech. Separating soon. Associates degree, Sec/Net +, and I take my CCNA on the 21st(I'm sure I'll pass.). I have a very solid background in routing/switching and hardware encryption devices especially considering my age(just turned 23) and years of experience(5) and some light server administration skills. I do have some great experience with implementing projects and large network rollouts. SONET and VoIP experience as well. Thanks in advance!

Comments

• Options
    zidianzidian Member Posts: 132
    The per diem rates that I'm used to seeing are around $30 a day on the low end up to $75 a day on the high end. Per diem rates are based on geographic location. You get paid per diem for each day on travel and 75% per diem for the start/end dates (they expect you to feed yourself one meal those days). Typically, hours are charged from the time you leave your house until you arrive at the hotel/final work location on travel days (plus any work hours obviously). The same is true for the return trip, time is charged until you reach your drive way again.

That has been my experience.
    WGU BS-IT Software | Completed 9/30/2014
  • Options