Need advice on talking with new CEO about IT issues

pcgizzmopcgizzmo Member Posts: 127
Long story short.

Company has a new CEO. The new guy thinks the company is behind on technology. Doesn't get along with the CIO and it's questionable whether he likes the IT manager. People have reported bad things about IT. I'm a admin. I agree with him. We have had no consistency from middle management and upper management is old school philosophy. Middle management lacks management skill and technical knowledge. No forward thinking. I doubt CIO will be around much longer.

I have a friend in HR. This friend tells me that I need to speak up in a meeting we are having with the CEO. HR friend claims that the CEO looks at people that don't speak up as complacent and part of the problem. In the meeting w/out management the CEO mentions a long list of things he would like to see change from an IT perspective. I'm the only one that spoke up. I tried my best to explain that we do what we are told and have suggestions but can't force management to follow our suggestions. I did this in a very indirect way obviously I still work for current management.

So my questions - There are many things I still think could change and we could implement all of the changes he would like to see and most we need to do anyway. Do I ask to speak to him w/him directly to go over things I think are issues that can help and to also be more direct about my direct management? Send him an email? Do nothing?

My thoughts are I should at least let him know I care. Honestly he already knows the problems but I think he wants to see someone else in the department actually acknowledge them?

Thoughts?

Thanks.

Comments

• NightShade03NightShade03 Member Posts: 1,383 ■■■■■■■□□□