What is the Fastest route to the CCIE

guy+micguy+mic Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am studying for the A+ cert right now (almost done) and want to know the fastest route to the CCIE cert. I have a job set up that deals with a little of everything (systyem administrator) but I think that Cisco will do a lot more for me financially in the future.
I am just wondering how many exams are invlved in the CCIE and if I need any previous certs in Cisco (CCNP, CSSP, CCVP, etc.) before I can even qualify to take the CCIE.
Thanks for your helping out a newbie.

Comments

• mikej412mikej412 Member Posts: 10,086 ■■■■■■■■■■
    The only requirement for the CCIE is $300 for the written exam, and if you pass, you are then allowed to spend $1250 (and the travel and lodging and preparation costs) on the 8 hour proctored Lab exam. :D

The CCIE pre-dates all the other Cisco Certifications, so they never changed the requirement to include them -- but they do make sense as milestones to test your knowledge. Voice is HOT HOT HOT right now, but the most CCIEs are Routing and Switching -- so the obvious path would be CCNA --> CCNP --> CCIE (with maybe a couple of the CCIP exam like QOS and BGP to help). You could toss the Network+ in the front of the list.

Darby started a thread in the CCIE forum which could give you a hint of what to expect as far as preparation. :D He should be traveling or already at RTP for his Lab Exam tomorrow.
    http://www.techexams.net/forums/viewtopic.php?t=14323

Kenny posted his lab exam experience here
    http://www.techexams.net/forums/viewtopic.php?t=11053

The Cisco Certification page is here
    http://www.cisco.com/web/learning/le3/learning_career_certifications_and_learning_paths_home.html
    and you can follow the CCIE link from there. :D

Or, if you can't wait to check it out -- here is the direct CCIE link :D
    http://www.cisco.com/web/learning/le3/ccie/index.html