I passed and you can too

LostpacketLostpacket Member Posts: 25 ■■■□□□□□□□
I scored an 869 on the Security plus this weekend.

My prep materials were Darril's book and his blog. I read his book over a 3 week period and then spend a week doing the practice exams and going back and reviewing. I work full time and I have a family so I studied nights after the kids were in bed and on the weekends when I had an extra few hours.

Darril's blog was a great resource about the performance based questions so those were not a surprise to me:
Security+ Performance Based Questions - Get Certified Get Ahead | Get Certified Get Ahead

My advice for anyone studying for this exam is as follows:

Set a date the day you start to study. Pick a date for your exam right away, be it 2 weeks later, 4 weeks later, 8 weeks later ... whatever. Just set a date and work toward it. This is a very do-able exam.

Work your way through the material you are using to study and then try to have that done a week or two before your exam date. Then use the last week or two to do a few practice exams, find out what areas you are weak in and go back and read just those sections again.

Comments

• Dakinggamer87Dakinggamer87 Member Posts: 4,016 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Congrats on pass!! icon_thumright.gif
    *Associate's of Applied Sciences degree in Information Technology-Network Systems Administration
    *Bachelor's of Science: Information Technology - Security, Master's of Science: Information Technology - Management
    Matthew 6:33 - "Seek the Kingdom of God above all else, and live righteously, and he will give you everything you need."

Certs/Business Licenses In Progress: AWS Solutions Architect, Series 6, Series 63
  • dpsmooth15dpsmooth15 Banned Posts: 155
    Job well done!
  • FloOzFloOz Member Posts: 1,614 ■■■■□□□□□□
  • TByrd450TByrd450 Member Posts: 65 ■■□□□□□□□□
    How much experience have you had prior to studying
  • LostpacketLostpacket Member Posts: 25 ■■■□□□□□□□
    TByrd450 wrote: »