Just enrolled in the VMware ESXi / Vsphere Udemy course

ande0255ande0255 Banned Posts: 1,178
I am mainly taking this because UC platform virtualization is becoming the norm, and am wondering if anyone has taken this and can attest to it's awesomeness? Not chasing a cert, but does this prepare you for any VCP cert tests?

I am a complete noob to virtualization, so any geekback is way appreciated guys, Thanks!

Comments

• Asif DaslAsif Dasl Member Posts: 2,116 ■■■■■■■■□□
    If you are talking about the Infinite Skills one, then I have access to it on Safari Books Online. It's very dry, I never finished it as it was too basic. It rushes over too much in 6 hours to be useful for the VCP but it would get you up to speed with VMware enough to lab it up.

The Pluralsight videos are much much better for VMware IMO. And they are pretty cheap too. But you still need to sit the course requirement to become a VCP, check the Stanly or Dallas County CC threads for more details on signing up for that, it's about $200 at either one. There is more spots on the waiting list at Stanly though.

HTH.
  • ande0255ande0255 Banned Posts: 1,178
    Yes I enrolled in the infinite skills one, I did check out the plural sight one as well but it didn't seem as in depth from the preview video.

Not worried at all about getting vmware certified at this point, purely learning for the sake of understanding, but another cert would be a nice to have. As far as dryness goes, I feel like after watching Mark Snow's Voice bootcamp videos, I could listen to Ben Stein read the entie encyclopedia series - that course is as dry as I have ever endured!

Thanks for the input man!
  • tstrip007tstrip007 Member Posts: 308 ■■■■□□□□□□