Options

Transition from business into IT security

Analystguy89Analystguy89 Member Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
I have an MIS degree and have been a business analyst for 2 years now. I want to make a jump into IT Security specifically Risk Management or some kind of IT security project management. What steps do I need to take to get into security. I know I will need some certifications but what certs will I need to get to that side.

Comments

• Options
    --chris----chris-- Member Posts: 1,518 ■■■■■□□□□□
    This is just my opinion, I am certain others will have theirs too.

I transitioned from business (warehouse manager of B2B goods) to IT. It took about 9 months of trying to find the first job. In that time I worked on the A+, ITIL Foundations and a B.S. I studied, studied, studied! I recently got into a support position.

Thats a good way to start. Get the minimum certifications you need to get a helpdesk/support position. Get in there, do your job well and learn where ever possible.

You say you want into security. I've been told (and I think it sounds right) you cant secure something until you deploy it, repair it and watch it grow. There really are not many "entry level" security positions. Its a bit of a misnomer: "entry level security".

So a recap; certify/fight for your first IT job. Watch things break, watch users break things, repair them, talk to coworkers that know more and keep learning. Once you get into IT the path to security should get clearer. There are many ways to get there, but its not a direct path.
  • Options
    ande0255ande0255 Banned Posts: 1,178
    I said this somewhere else recently, but a very good way to get into security is to fight for said entry level support role, and cozy up to the security folks whenever you get a chance to interact with them. If you project a continued desire to learn, eventually someone will take a chance on hiring you.

Good luck!
  • Options
    wes allenwes allen Member Posts: 540 ■■■■■□□□□□