Has anyone taken the LPI Linux Essentials Exam?

ivanfaprivanfapr Member Posts: 16 ■■■□□□□□□□
I'm currently studying for this exam and I would like to know if anyone could give some feed back about it. I know some people that I have spoke to, told me to start with the CompTIA Linux+ powered by LPI but I decided to start with the LPI Linux Essentials Exam. I know everyone has different opinions about this. I am currently reading the All in One LPI Linux Essentials Certification Exam Guide (McGraw-Hill) by Robb Tracy (I'm reading the last chapter of the book). In addition to this study guide, I'm using a Linux & LPIC Quick Reference Guide that I found while browsing the Internet (http://perso.crans.org/~raffo/books/linux-lpic-guide.pdf). I set up a virtual lab with CentOS, Ubuntu, and OpenSUSE virtual machines to practice for the exam.

Thank you.

Comments

• nyknicksfannyknicksfan Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
    It doesn't make sense to study for just the LPIC-1 exam since CompTIA has an agreement that if you pass the Linux+, you are eligible to also get the LPIC-1. However, if you pass the LPIC-1, you cannot automatically get the Linux+. I would suggest setting up some CentOS and Ubuntu VM's and study for the Linux+. If you follow the procedure in the link, once you complete the Linux+, you also get the LPIC-1.
  • coughlan22coughlan22 Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
    ivanfapr wrote: »