Eligibility to appear for CISSP

nalluri4nalluri4 Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello,

I have completed my 3 years degree in 8 years because of some problems. I have got 4 years of IT experience ( 2 years before completion my Graduation & 2years after my degree ) .I have done ITIL & CCNA Ceritifications as well.

I am preparing for CISSP now. One of my friend told me that I am not eligible for CISSP as I have only 15 years of education. Is that true? Can anyone advice please?

Thanks In Advance.

Comments

• aftereffectoraftereffector Member Posts: 525 ■■■■□□□□□□
    The requirement, as I understand it, is 5 years of experience in two or more of the security domains, or 4 years of experience if you hold a certification that is on their approved list (https://www.isc2.org/credential_waiver/default.aspx).
    CCIE Security - this one might take a while...
  • cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    ^ that is correct. You obviously have a degree which means you'll need 4 years of "cumulative paid full-time work experience in two or more of the ten domains of the (ISC)² CISSP CBK" in at least two domains. How much experience do you have?

If you don't have the experience you can still take the test but can't use the CISSP designation:
    Don't have the experience? Become an Associate of (ISC)² by successfully passing the CISSP exam. You'll have six years to earn your experience to become a CISSP.
  • nalluri4nalluri4 Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I do have total 4 years of Exp. My questions are

1) Will they Consider my 2 years of IT experience before Graduation ?
    2) Is 4 years Degree mandatory for CISSP ? I do have only 3 years degree.
    Graduation is irrelevant. I finished my BS and graduated in 2012, yet have been doing IT professionally since 1999. The requirement says "direct full-time security professional work experience."