Have you taken the exam? i have a question.

rhtrht Member Posts: 92 ■■□□□□□□□□
So i am studying for the Network+ exam and i am using CompTIA Network+N10-005 Authorized Exam Cram and Mike Meyers Network+ book. The problem is that one book lists all the switches related to the commands and the other book does not go into details listing only a few of them. The question is should i memorize all those complicated switches or just for the common commands like ipconfig and ping???

Thanks

Comments

• unfbilly11unfbilly11 Member Posts: 100 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I don't remember having any questions like whether I should run a command with this switch or that switch, just generic questions like what commands are used for what. That doesn't mean that they aren't in the test bank though. If you did want to memorize some of the switches I would start with the basic ones like /FlushDNS and /release and /renew. In my experience, the Exam Cram questions were very, very similar to what was on the actual test. I will tell you, and I hope this isn't breaking any rules, that some of the switches came in very handy for a couple of the performance based questions.

It's never a bad thing to learn the switches because you'll use them quite a bit in real world scenarios.
  • SixtyCycleSixtyCycle Member Posts: 111
    Which is a better book to pass the exam AND gain overall knowledge about Network, the Exam Cram or the Mike Meyers book? I would like to buy one book only then supplement with the online videos.
  • cygnus21cygnus21 Member Posts: 49 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I used just the Meyers book and did pretty well on the exam. I still use it as a reference for networking issues every now and then.
    WGU B.S.IT - Network Design and Management :
    Courses Completed: Transferred: BAC1, BBC1, LAE1, IWC1, IWT1 Completed: GAC1, AXV1, TTV1, WFV1, BNC1, BNC1
    Courses Needed : LAT1, LUT1, HHT1, QLT1, INC1, INT1, SSC1, SST1, ORC1, LET1, BOV1, TPV1, ABV1, TNV1, TSV1, AHV1, AIV1, BHV1, BIV1