Seeking Advice: Pre-CISA Certifications

ats1425ats1425 Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Greetings All,

I'm a System Administrator who's very determined to becoming an Auditor and I'm looking for advice. I have already purchased the study guide by Cannon and I have been reading it diligently. Assuming that I pass the exam, I'd still need over 2 years of experience that System Administration doesn't exactly cover. What would be good certifications to get which would help me in landing an Entry-level Auditing position? I have read on another site that Security+, SCCP, or GSEC would be good certifications to look at, but wanted to see what CISA's had to offer on this topic.

Thanks in advance for the feedback!

Comments

• vasyvasyvasyvasy Member Posts: 68 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Welcome
    In your very first post, you've set the bar for yourself quite high :)

In my opinion, a certification is just a piece of paper... to quote someone from the forums, even a trained monkey would eventually gain any certification
    The most important part is experience and knowledge, period. A certificate is just o proof of them both

If you are really interested in auditing, I can suggest to start small: in your current workplace, make a proposition to your supervisor to get an internal audit going for your department. If everything is going well, expand to other departments, maybe as a part of an audit team

Then, you may seek a certification body in your area that needs a junior/trainee auditor and work for them project-based on your spare time/vacation days

By that time:
    - you will surely know if the auditor role suits you
    - you will keep your day job
    - you will gain experience, as per ISACA requirements
    - you will make new friends in this field (and maybe new enemies) that will be invaluable someday

Best of luck!
  • ats1425ats1425 Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Thank you for the valuable feedback, vasyvasy!