Passed CISSP 17-02-14

netstatnetstat Member Posts: 65 ■■□□□□□□□□
Dear all,

I would like to thank everyone that contributed on this forum as I am pleased to announce that I passed the CISSP on my first attempt. Without your support I would not have managed.

About me - I have been working in IT for 10 years with the last 4-5 years in IT Security. I am exposed to mainly technical and operation security duties but I do have some occasional duties where I have to wear the managerial hat. I also hold a MSc Degree in Information Security which I have to say did help with the CISSP Studies. I have been studying for the CISSP for around 10 months. It was not a full time study though, as I had another exam last November to sit for.

I took the CISSP exam in London, (as I live in Malta and the computer based exam is not available here and none of the centres were going to organise the course and written exam) so I had to book a 3 hour flight with another hour and a half of travel for the lodging destination. I had a tough time sleeping the night before the flight and even the night in London before the exam.

The exam – The exam was tough but definitely not impossible (and not because I passed). I ended up taking 5 hours 55mins, without a break - no water, no food, no bathroom which was not easy. I was constantly calculating the questions I was certain of and the ones I was not, including checking how much time was left. For example, out of 100 questions answered, 25 were uncertain which "could" mean a border pass - which (for me) is too risky so I closed my eyes, stretched (weirdly) on the chair simulating some form of aerobics for a couple of seconds and then continued. I took the call not take a break as I knew I would not have finished if I did.