FreeBSD vs CentOS?

LittleBITLittleBIT Member Posts: 320 ■■■■□□□□□□
Can anyone shed some light on this?

I am planning on learning some Linux, and I've heard good things about CentOS as a server host, but after having a conversation with a Sys. Admin, he preaches that FreeBSD is the way to go.

I am a total newbie at Linux/Unix, but plan to learn and develop as I go (Can't always depend on M$)

What are peoples thoughts on FreeBSD / CentOS?
Kindly doing the needful

Comments

• stryder144stryder144 Member Posts: 1,684 ■■■■■■■■□□
    If you are interested in sitting for a Linux certification, such as Linux+ or RHCSA, then you will need CentOS. Either OS should be a good learning tool and I doubt, in the beginning, that you'd notice a significant difference between them.
    The easiest thing to be in the world is you. The most difficult thing to be is what other people want you to be. Don't let them put you in that position. ~ Leo Buscaglia

Connect With Me || My Blog Site || Follow Me
  • linuxloverlinuxlover Banned Posts: 228
    Again one of those apples vs oranges threads. Well, first of all FreeBSD is not Linux so if you want to learn Linux, go with CentOS, Debian or Ubuntu. Second, I don't pretend to work with Linux commercially but I don't know what your sys admin does in his day to day to job to recommend you FreeBSD as a server OS. Thirdly, why not learn both at the same time and see for yourself what suits you best? My guess is Linux.
  • gc8dc95gc8dc95 Member Posts: 206 ■■□□□□□□□□
    CentOS is pretty much the same as RedHat, which is what you will see used in a large amount of Linux deployments and the well known certs are also RedHat based.

I have never heard of FreeBSD being recommended for learning Linux, since it is not really Linux.
  • antielvisantielvis Member Posts: 285 ■■■□□□□□□□
    To the OP