Options

Which certs to aquire?

broken73broken73 Member Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
This may seem like a pipe dream, but I know anything is possible. My ultimate goal is to work remotely from a sailboat via the internet in about 5+ years. I'm currently a DOD contractor and making the transition into the IT industry. I have three more certs to go for my MCSA.
My question is which IT field + certs would provide me the best opportunity to achieve my goal? I've heard database administrator, network admininistrator, and security. My experience to date revolves around 19 years of building and troubleshooting hardware and software as well as maintaining a home network. My current schedule is to finish Sec +, followed by CCNA then 640, 642, and 646 fo rmy MCSA. I'm leaning towards security, but am not sure. I just like working with computers and want a job working with computers remotely as in Mexico or from a sailboat. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Dan

Comments

• Options
    cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    I gotta say, most unusual goal I've seen here in a while.
  • Options
    linuxloverlinuxlover Banned Posts: 228
    The only remote positions I've heard about were in Support. If you want to work from a boat perhaps you should be looking at self-employment.
  • Options
    Asif DaslAsif Dasl Member Posts: 2,116 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Not sure how realistic a goal it is, A) boats are expensive B) you are in the water where there is little internet coverage and finally C) remote jobs don't pay as much as onsite jobs. But hey, you'd probably laugh off some of my goals too.

As for certs I think you are on the right track - testing the waters (pun intended :)) with a little Cisco and a little Microsoft and see what you like best. MTAs are not a good guideline how Microsoft is IMO. So all you have to do is get started!
  • Options