CISSP Cert - Experiences that qualify?

Amurray22Amurray22 Member Posts: 18 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am interested in becoming CISSP certified but do not work in the IT field. I am an electric power engineer working with SCADA and control systems. Security is becoming a much larger focus in this area and I feel a CISSP certification would be helpful. I fell I'll be able to handle the CEU requirements as I do a lot of different training/educational events. My concern is what can I use to meet the 'X years of experience' requirement.

Interested to hear how others outside of a traditional IT field have accomplished this.

Thanks
Andy

Comments

• MSP-ITMSP-IT Member Posts: 752 ■■■□□□□□□□
    This is the biggest hurdle that most people face. The certification is geared towards individuals who work directly in the the Information Security industry. That being said, even though I am more or less against the idea of people twisting their experience in order to seemingly meet the requirement, I believe that if you have a role where you actively maintain access control systems, as I would believe SCADA could qualify, you should be able to use that as a qualifier for one of the domains. You must also meet the experience requirement for at least two domains, and receive an endorsement by a current (ISC)2 member.

You are also able to sit for the exam and receive an Associate status with the (ISC)2, then you will have a certain amount of years to meet the experience requirement without having to sit the exam.
  • jamthatjamthat Member Posts: 304 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Amurray22 wrote: »