Newcomer to Texams

karedekarede Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello all,

Just wanted to say hi, and dig into these forums. I'm in the DOD, mid level in information assurance area. I just recently passed my CCNA two weeks ago. It had been something I've been starting and stopping for oh 7 years. My current job has nothing to do with routers/switches so passing didn't do much for me, other than my ego! I have the standard 3 comptia a, net, sec. Seeing as how CASP would be a nice 8570 jump for me, I was thinking of going that route next. Any advice on that? My eventual goal is the lofty CISSP or CISM. I haven't yet decided, as I don't know much about either exam. Other than the CISSP salary is nice, and the test is grueling. I'm also considering PMP. The problem is I have 5-7 years of experience, so I would have to get an associate cert on some of them.

So, is the CASP a worthwhile stop on the way to one of the either two?

Lastly, are there any good free resources out there for the CASP?

Comments

• sigsoldiersigsoldier Member Posts: 136 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Having done both, I would just go straight for CISSP. There is a lot of overlap in the material, and I dont think it would take you much longer to study for CISSP. Others may have different experiences, but the CASP hasn't really done anything for my career. You already have the years of experience, so my reccomendation would be to skip CASP.
  • BGravesBGraves Member Posts: 339
    If you're in the DOD, you should have a Safaribooks online subscription free right? That would be a good free resource for either if so...
  • karedekarede Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I totally forgot about Safari. How about youtube or such a beast? I know there were some fantastic CCNA channels out there, any for casp/cism? I know i can do a search out there, but I don't want to be lead the wrong way.

edit or any good Security channels
  • eansdadeansdad Member Posts: 775 ■■■■□□□□□□