Hardware Questions for VMware

stryder144stryder144 Member Posts: 1,684 ■■■■■■■■□□
For those who've gone through the class or who have completed their certification for VCP, I have a hardware question or two.

A friend of mine purchased a used Dell PowerEdge 1950 Gen II server. It has two quad-core 2.0 ghz Xeon e5335 processors, 24 GB of RAM, and one 36 GB and one 146 GB SAS drives. Since I have a part-time job fixing computers, he has asked me to do two things for him: 1. Make sure everything works correctly (only thing it needs right now is a Perc 5i battery) and 2. test it out with VMware or Citrix to see how well it does. Unfortunately, I have never worked on a legit server before, only consumer computers.

Background: he purchased the server since he heard about the Stanly CC class and wants to use it for studying/labbing, once he gets into the class. I've looked at the exam objectives and done some googling but can't really find a solid answer to these questions. To that end, I have a few questions to ask:

My primary question is this, can I install ESXi/vSphere on the 36 GB drive and use the 146 GB drive for the VMs? Should I talk to him about putting two identical drives in the server and set it up for RAID? Does it even matter? Lastly, he is thinking about adding two more sticks of RAM to the server, in order to max it out to 32 GB. Is it necessary or is it the "coolness" factor at play?

Thanks in advance.
The easiest thing to be in the world is you. The most difficult thing to be is what other people want you to be. Don't let them put you in that position. ~ Leo Buscaglia

Connect With Me || My Blog Site || Follow Me

Comments

• EssendonEssendon Member Posts: 4,546 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Good questions.

1. Install ESXi to a USB stick to save the drive. Yes, you can do this.
    2. Dont RAID the drives. This is just a lab and since hardware is very limited just use the drives on their own.