Options

Experience vs Salary : What would you choose?

LittleBITLittleBIT Member Posts: 320 ■■■■□□□□□□
Hello TE!

I am stuck at a fork right now in my life and I do not know how to proceed. The current job I am at I make about 40K w/ benefits. I get to touch lots of goodies, and have full access to their Technet licenses. I work as a Help Desk Analyst but I am also in charge of the Helpdesk lower techs. I have learned so much in the past two years at this place, but with all my certifications I earned (And working towards MCSA Serv 2012) I don't know if they will bump my salary. I love the fact that I just 'breached' into server stuff, setting up domains, building virtual environments, getting familiar with CentOS, FreeBSD, FreeNAS and learning how to use advanced hardware firewalls and building VPN's. The experience I am gaining gives me nerdgasms when I think about it…Again, my salary is low in my eyes, but my experience is probably commensurate with my pay.

However, opportunity has struck to do basically the same work, oversea's as a contractor making almost double, if not, triple that amount for oversea assignments. And I obviously have to thank all my certs for that kind of opportunity, but I feel as if I will be stuck in Helpdesk for the rest of my life without moving up and learning more. The job will pretty much be static, no messing with servers, PW resets galore, account creation city, real basic help desk stuff. And of course, plethora of printer issues.