i'm new to certifications

rocksteady_grocksteady_g Member Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
how is it everyone,

I recently passed my Network+ last week. But now I am very unsure of what certification/s I should pursue. I will be getting my BS in December and am just trying to establish myself. I basically have no job experience in the industry, so it seemed to me that certifications were a good idea.

I have no idea what other exams to take. I know that it depends on what I want to get into and the job market in my area. But could yall give me some tips on what I may pursue next? Everyone's seems to want a MCSE, would that one be applicable toward me? I was thinkin about the CCNA, as that seems for entry-level people as well. Should EVERYONE have the A+, as it seems it is the first one everyone takes, and the most "general" of the exams.
[/b]

Comments

• jrowejrowe Member Posts: 83 ■■□□□□□□□□
    personally i wouldn't view any cisco exam as entry level,
    they are tough exams.
    comptia on the other hand i would say is entry level and most people see A+ and Net+ as a basic grounding before going onto MCSA/MCSE or Cisco qualifications.
    IMO A+ may be your best bet before looking at the others.

just my opinion, others may feel differently

:)
  • jlambertjlambert Member Posts: 89 ■■□□□□□□□□
    You can't go wrong with A+, from what I hear most companies require it along with the others.
  • 2lazybutsmart2lazybutsmart Member Posts: 1,119
    I'll second that. icon_rolleyes.gif I call them the warmup (A+, Net+). If u;re fresh to the exercise, make sure u warmup.

My back hurts.... lol (cuz I didn't do the warmup)

2lbs.
    Exquisite as a lily, illustrious as a full moon,
    Magnanimous as the ocean, persistent as time.
  • abosseenabosseen Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
    HI everybody: