A+ Certified!

SnackyJSnackyJ Member Posts: 16 ■□□□□□□□□□
801: 852
802: 813

Just a little background: Computers have always been a hobby of mine for over 20+ years now (I'm 32), and it was about 5 years ago when I actually started working with computers in a professional setting. I have put in extra time to help out around campus in addition to my regular "office job" duties.

Over those years I've been exposed to a lot of things and have had very cool co-workers/friends who were Field Technicians, who helped me know what I currently know; Working within a domain, troubleshooting PCs, Laptops, phones etc.

I've been self taught and learned on the job (which I'm thankful for) and this year have become a temporary Field Tech for those who go out on extended leave. I'm hoping to get a full time tech position in the near future.

Getting the A+ was kind of a validation of what I knew I know. Having an unrelated BA, and no other "proof" that I know what I'm doing, getting the A+ kinda "proves" (at least to me) that I do.

----

Preparation:

The Exam Cram with the included practice test and Professor Messer videos were great preparation and really my only means of study. I again, have the 500+ hours of experience so YMMV.

I did learn a bit from the books and videos and I can say that I wouldn't have passed without studying. I studied for about 2 months 3-4 hours a day. It consisted of reading, taking some notes (not many, and I don't do flash cards) and taking practice tests.

A majority of my time was spending taking the practice tests and looking over the areas I was weak. For me, it was Windows and commands (knowing all of the switches for each command) and knowing where things are within Windows. I know where things like the "Windows Update" are visually, but when it looks like Start > Control Panel > Windows Update ...my brain just hurts.

---

Testing Experience: