MPLS noob question

chris34chris34 Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am just starting to learn about MPLS and I am having a hard time finding information about MPLS from a customers perspective. I understand that there is no specific MPLS configuration on the customers end and that they usually form a BGP neighborship with the PE router and advertise their routes.

So do all of the customers routes get advertised to each other adding all the advertised routes into the customers routing table?

What if the customer has thousands of sites and most sites don't need to communicate with each other? Wouldn't that be a waste of resources on the customers routers with such a large routing table?

What if the customer wants to implement a hub and spoke topology?

If anyone knows of a good read that could answer these questions without going to deep into the service provider end of things I would appreciate it, thanks.

Comments

• f0rgiv3nf0rgiv3n Member Posts: 598 ■■■■□□□□□□
    So do all of the customers routes get advertised to each other adding all the advertised routes into the customers routing table?
    Depends, but most of the time: Yes.

What if the customer has thousands of sites and most sites don't need to communicate with each other? Wouldn't that be a waste of resources on the customers routers with such a large routing table?
    Routers connected to an MPLS should be able to handle a large BGP routing table. If they only want certain routes available on a site they can configure this on the site's router in the BGP configuration.

What if the customer wants to implement a hub and spoke topology?
    The whole point of an MPLS is that you don't need a hub & spoke. You don't have to rely on one site to get to another, they will communicate directly. But if you really wanted to do that, you could do it with manual configuration of the routes on the routers.
  • azaghulazaghul Member Posts: 569 ■■■■□□□□□□