Options

Where do I go from here?

94jedi94jedi Member Posts: 177
Hey all, I've been a CISSP since March of 2012 and am looking to take the next step. I'm currently a info security analyst but would like to eventually be a CISO and take the next step into the six-figure realm. I currently work in healthcare (seems to be more money here) but have also worked as a DoD contractor for one of the top 5 major contractors.

My question is - what's my next certification step?

I've heard that the CISA is a bit redundant if I already have the CISSP, although I notice most job req's ask for the CISA.

CISM seems like a likely choice, but I wonder if I'd price myself out of the market.

HCISPP might be a good choice give my current industry, but I don't know if the value is there yet. Maybe I should get it now, before supply crosses over demand?

PMP/Project+: This is one I hadn't considered until recently but I think it might be of value to me and my career.

Any thoughts/input would be appreciated.
HAIL TO THE REDSKINS!!!

Comments

• Options
    zxbanezxbane Member Posts: 740 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Jedi,

I am pursuing the CISM myself at the moment because I work as a Info Assurance Manager for the DoD. I don't know if I agree that the CISA is redundant if you hold the CISSP since from my understanding the CISA delves much deeper into the realm of auditing, as expected..

I plan to test in June for the CISM and from studying so far I must say it gives me a much better overall view of organizations and how security is incorporated into organizational activities, as well as risk management, compliance etc. I definitely would recommend it if you have the required experience to go along with it.
  • Options
    zxbane wrote: »
    Jedi,