'Trivia' questions

kaelskaels Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi all! I'm just getting started studying for the A+ and Net+ certs, so I've been sort of pretesting myself to see where my weak spots are and what sorts of questions I should be prepared for. I've been scoring around 70-80% on various practice tests for the 220-801 (the 802 is a lot easier).

The questions that are tripping me up, though, aren't what I expected - they're not about technologies I'm unfamiliar with or processes I don't understand. What I'm having trouble with are what I'd describe as 'trivia' that I can't imagine ever needing or wanting to know in a support environment: how many pins on an SODIMM, how many pins on a floppy drive cable, the maximum length of an IDE cable, the maximum speed of 802.11a, etc. These are all very familiar objects/technologies, but the numbers are pretty meaningless unless you're an engineer designing to the spec. As a tech, you just need to recognize the things and know how they compare to other similar things.

I'm not comfortable looking at braindumps, so I was wondering if anyone who's taken the exam could just give me a general estimate of how many of that sort of question one might expect? Are the practice tests accurately representing the test material? And if so, how did you study for these sort of questions? I could just memorize the particular numbers on the practice exam questions, but then what if I go in and they ask me how many pins there are on an AGP card? Or the maximum speed of Cat 3 cable? Do I have to know every number in all the various books?

Thanks for the help!

Comments

• Gradywhite22Gradywhite22 Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□