CompTIA Can Bite My @$$

kbfromvtkbfromvt Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
Took the Security+ Exam yesterday and failed with a score of 708. The exam was the most poorly written piece of crap I've ever seen. Someone find me someone from CompTIA so I can punch them in the face. Not only did I read the Sybex "Authorized Curriculum" book from cover to cover TWICE, I also read the Syngress book from cover to cover as well as Chris Crayton's Exam Guide. Not to mention my profession is as an Information Security Analyst and I've been doing it for quite some time now! My day to day job is hardening networks and servers/workstations. They can kiss my @$$!!

Bottom line is they're testing someone on their ability to guess for a good 20% of the questions. "Here's 4 right answers, which one do WE think is right?". I could have just as easily passed as I could have failed, provided I guess differently on a good portion of the questions. It's just sad to think that they're certifying people that are fully qualified in anything except taking CompTIA's bullshit exams. This was the first CompTIA exam I ever took and it was the last. They got a nice little disgruntled email from me. :)

-Kyle

Comments

• bellboybellboy Member Posts: 1,017
    microsoft have a similar reputation for seeking their version of an answer, sometimes conflicting with that of cisco in matters relating to networking. so i am looking forward to my brainwashing ;)

i sympathise with you and the effort that you believed should have gotten you that pass. from the horror stories i have heard of other security+ candidates, i have come to the comclusion that people could stand as good a chance as somebody who has studied by merely ansering the questions at random (or the all-c's system perhaps).
    A+ Moderator
  • aznluvsmcaznluvsmc Member Posts: 47 ■■□□□□□□□□