Certifications for Salespeople

ProtectorProtector Member Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
I'm looking into pursuing a software sales role within the security industry. Very interested in helping entities solve the types of problems that this industry confronts. I'm currently selling advertising software that is fairly complex and have been in a sales role since 2007. That said, I have zero IT and security experience.

Info I'm looking for
  • Best certification to start with (been considering Security+)
  • Best 2nd certification
  • Any additional info from people who are in a sales role or know someone in such a role would be greatly appreciated

Comments

• PlantwizPlantwiz Mod Posts: 5,057 Mod
    For a basic certification, look at the CompTIA certs. Sec+ is obviously one such cert.

What sort of IT are you looking for? You state 'security', but that is pretty broad. Do you want to consult? Likely a good place for someone with sales experience. Or are you looking to settle into a single corporation and work as part of a team?

Net+, Sec+ and maybe/maybe not the A+ will be the first steps most likely. These will provide a general foundation and from there you will branch out into more specific IT areas, either MS or Cisco. What about picking up a degree? You'll fair a bit better with a degree than a few certs with limited experience.

Setup a lab and practice, but lab scenarios will only take you so far, you will need to get your hands dirty...and that may come by way of volunteering to gain the experience and exposure to technologies as well as networking with IT people in your area.
    Plantwiz
    _____
    "Grammar and spelling aren't everything, but this is a forum, not a chat room. You have plenty of time to spell out the word "you", and look just a little bit smarter." by Phaideaux

***I'll add you can Capitalize the word 'I' to show a little respect for yourself too.

'i' before 'e' except after 'c'.... weird?
  • ProtectorProtector Member Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□