Another Linux+ n00b with questions

Legacy UserLegacy User Unregistered / Not Logged In Posts: 0 ■□□□□□□□□□
I currently use ubuntu as my desktop operating system. Should this be sufficiant distro to use to study for Linux+, or should i really be getting redhat/fedora?

Realistically how long do most people have to study to safely pass this exam? I'm fairly new to linux (although i've been using ubuntu for a couple months, but i don't do too much with it).

I was thinking if i study\practice for two hours a day or so i'd probably be good within three to four weeks. Is this a reasonable estimate? I find if I set myself a deadline i seem to be much more dedecated, but i'd like it to be a reasonable one.

Comments

• sprkymrksprkymrk Member Posts: 4,884 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Personally that wouldn't be enough time for me... But I am not a good studier (not sure if that's a real word). I have off/on been using Red Hat/Fedora since version 7.1 back in about the year 2000. I have also taken a few college level security classes that used Fedora as the main OS. I also run an online broadcast on a Fedora server using shoutcast. That said, however, I am not sure I could pass any kind of test on Linux with only 3-4 weeks of study. Do you plan on studying for several hours a day? How good are you at memorization? Do you have other computer experience? I think if I were going to take the Linux+ test I would study at the rate of 1 chapter every 2 days (I have a terrible memory and fall asleep within minutes of opening any kind of technical text book). Given a 15 chapter book, that would amount to about 1 month of study followed by a few practice exams, followed by reviewing my weak areas, etc. I think if I really hunkered down and put my nose to the grind stone I would allow myself a good 2 months.
    All things are possible, only believe.
  • exkor5000exkor5000 Member Posts: 54 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I never took the exam, but i took the practice exams and they were a piece of cake