Options

Masters Degree for either Information Security or Software Engineering.

XaymacaXaymaca Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
First off I should say that I did my Bachelors degree in Environmental Science, but wanted to switch fields since I can't find anything pertaining to that. I have some experience with the I.T. field doing just my own work, but not a whole lot of experience. Right now I have a choice of going into Software Engineering and Information Security, but don't know which one will help me get a job. Especially since I don't have much real world experience and eventually want to start my own business after gaining some experience. Which is why I am asking this question here, because I am sure those in the field or those who are very knowledgeable can give me some advice. I was talking to somebody and they told me that Software Engineers usually don't last long in the field due to companies wanting younger (cheap labor) programmers, due to the very fact of cheap labor, where as information security field might not be so. Just looking for advice so I can make a more informed decision on which one to choose. I did start off doing software design and analysis at my local community college, but never finished. Yet I have messed around with networking and linux as well.

Comments

• Options
    stryder144stryder144 Member Posts: 1,684 ■■■■■■■■□□