Options

Cybersecurity: Where to start?

acevicacevic Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi,

I am a security enthusiast interested in pursuing a career in the field of IT Security. However, I am very new to all of this with a little bit of knowledge here and there (i.e. very basic computer networking, some HTML, CSS, Javascript Basics, Python Basics and Ruby Basics and have been developing Wordpress sites.). I do not have any certifications so far and am not even sure whether any are necessary. My objective is to get started in ethical hacking and build my career around it.

After performing some online research, I came to the conclusion that there are no predefined courses or roadmaps for pursuing this field other than the typical vague learn programming, learn linux, etc etc, other than the ones defined by the certification authorities. And hence I got into the idea of following a predefined course structure from a certification authority and decided to follow it (CEH). However, I find that there are plenty of things that I keep failing to grasp and that there are no detailed courses on the subject that are beginner friendly, i.e something that one new to the IT industry as a whole can follow. What I am looking for is a syllabus that would guide me from scratch to get started as an ethical hacker in practice, preferably something that wont tie me up for months with heavy details on how things work and then go into the details and cover the advanced topics. I do understand that this cannot be achieved overnight and that I do have to understand certain topics such as SQL for SQL injections which are inevitable but I do believe in getting my hands dirty and working hard enough to make most of the time in hand and start getting involved with the subject.