GIAC Noob here

NovaHaxNovaHax Member Posts: 502 ■■■■□□□□□□
I am planning on starting to challenge some GIAC certs (without taking the corresponding SANS training). Never taken any of their exams before, but I figure this way, I can take 3 GIAC certs a year...as opposed to only 1...based on the annual training budget provided by my employer. Any recommendations from those that have successfully challenged and conquered?

I just registered for GCIH. icon_study.gif

Comments

• JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,023 Admin
    You should probably start by reading the Challenge Certification section of the GIAC Certification FAQ. Although it doesn't explicitly state it, using other people's the official SANS course materials is not allowed.
  • LionelTeoLionelTeo Member Posts: 526 ■■■■■■■□□□
    GCIH is the easiest to take on, its slightly above CEH with the exception of the missing incident handling and law part. The counter hack reloaded book is written by the course author Ed Skoudis and you should definitely pick it up if your challenging it. Incident Handling can be covered by picking up an incident handling book by industry leaders with good reviews. The SANS incident handling steps is slightly differently, you can read that up in the CISSP Study Guide by Eric Conrad.

Google is your best friend for every challenge, if you are very good at googling for resources, you can fill in the 'blanks' with self written notes for missing section where the books did not cover for the course.

I would go through with ceritifcation in terms of difficulty
    GCIH -> One of the easier Certification to take on. CEH is similar to this with exception there is no incident handling and laws for various country.